Orthodox monastery. Together with the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra, it was the second Stavropigian monastery of the Kyiv diocese and he became glorious thanks to the spiritual care of the Zaporozhian Cossacks.
The exact date of the foundation of the monastery is unknown. According to the legend, the monastery was laid by the Greek monks headed by Metropolitan Michael in 988.
The first reliable evidence of the monastery belong to the beginning of the XVI century.
In the first decades of the XVI century. In the monastery there was one St. Nicholas Temple, and the brothers received a honey tribute from the villages of Vyshgorod, Petrivsk, Tolsty Forest, Oran, Kozarovichi and Varrelk.
The monastery was released from duties. Kiev governors and metropolitans were forbidden to interfere in the affairs of the monastery.
In 1648-1676 and during the formation of the Ukrainian Cossack state, he received significant estates from the hetmans.
In the 2nd half of the XVII century. Mezhygirsky monastery became the "military" monastery of the Zaporozhian Sich (1672-1709 and 1734-1775 gg.); his monks were sent as church servants to the Sich churches and hospitals for the old Cossacks.
B.Khmelnitsky transferred to the property of the monastery Vyshgorod with the villages of Petrovka and Mashchany.
In the XVIII century. Mezhygirsky monastery belonged to the middle monasteries and its wealth was inferior to the Kiev-Pechersk Lavra, Mikhailovsky Zolotoverkhom, and the Slupsk monasteries. Russian Empress Catherine II, while supporting the process of liquidation of the Ukrainian Cossack autonomy, closed the Mezhygirsk monastery with her decree, and the estates were taken to the treasury.
In 1796, near the monastery, the German engineer Krani found a fossil of kaolin clay, suitable for the manufacture of dishes. In 1798, the premises of the former monastery founded the Kyiv-Mezhygir faience factory.
The product range of the factory was quite large and diverse, mainly oriented to the general public; made entire ensemble, mass batches of things for army needs, sets of church utensils, and individually made to order. The greatest supporters of Mezhigirskaya faience still belonged to the nobles, small gentry, military elite, and among the well-known admirers of the products were the families of Khannenkov and Hrushevsky.
The study of the products of the Kyiv-Mezhigorsk Faience Factory is constantly attracting the attention of researchers. Objects made of Mezhigirskogo faience are an ornament of museum collections both in Ukraine and abroad, since the intergirsk ceramics became a well-known brand of the nineteenth century.
However, the growth in the number of ceramic enterprises in the Russian Empire, which produced inexpensive faience, the development of a network of railways, which supplied faience from other countries, and the economic miscalculations of plant managers led to the closure of the factory in 1877.
The monastery was restored in 1885-1886 thanks to the efforts of Metropolitan Plato (Gorodetsky). In 1894 he was transformed into a woman's and subordinate to the Pokrovsky Monastery.
Acted until 1919, closed by the Bolsheviks. In 1923-1931 the buildings of the monastery were used by Mezhigirsky Arts and Ceramics College; Cells of the monastery inhabited the commune of warriors.
In 1933-1935, monastic buildings were dismantled. Construction of suburban government cottage has begun.