Open outskirt adjoined to the fortified parts of Ancient Vyshhorod - Dytynets and suburbs - from the south and west. It was the largest urban district, the area of which exceeded 19 hectares. It was bounded by natural boundaries: from the north - a broad ravine, from the east - the Dnieper (in the ancient times - the Dnieper Strait of Konoplyanka), from the south and west - a small tributary of the Dnieper Monashka (now, the most part of it, along the Sholudenko Street, is "hidden" in the collector) .
The opening of an outskirt by arhaeologists took place in 1936-1937, when T.M. Movchanovsky was excavated the first three potter's furnaces on the slopes of one of the ravines near the modern Greek Catholic Church. Since then, many archaeological works have been carried out in this part of the city, the largest of which were excavations in 1990 (Sholudenko Street, 6-a) and 2013-2015 (Starosilsky prov., Section 42).
The outskirt emerged at the turn of the X-XI centuries. It was built with the same types of housing and economic complexes, which included housing, commercial buildings and pottery furnace. Several segments of the streets were recorded, one of them - almost 50 m long. In the second quarter of the XII century the outskirt simultaneously and finally die in a fire, which we associate with the events of 1136, when, according to the chronicles, princes Ol'govichs, along with Polovtsy, devastated the Kiev outskirts "to Vyshgorod."
The outskirts were inhabited by artisans, who provided their products not only to Vyshgorod but also to the surrounding territories. Most of them were engaged in pottery production; only in the western part (modern Sholudenko street, 6-b) there arose a special craft center specializing in metallurgy and metal processing. The ancient Russian artisans occupied a rather high social position, used the objects of import and other prestigious things.
According to the scale of pottery production, Vyshgorod outstrikts have no equal on the territory of Kyivan Rus.
In different years, archaeologists have investigated more than two dozen well-preserved pottery kilns. Even more kilns were detected in a destroyed state, or, for one reason or another, not excavated. In general, according to scientists, 250-300 firing ovens could function there simultaneously!
Recent evidence suggests that enormous volumes of ceramics production by Vyshgorod masters were primarily aimed at the needs of the population of Kyiv, where traces of their own pottery craftsmanship have practically not been recorded.
The probability of a princely order may indicate discovery on the territory of the outstricts of princely actoum seals and merchandise seals, as well as – bottoms of pots with stamps in the form of coats of arms of the princes of the Rurikovich’s.
At the beginning of the XII century the population of the suburbs received an order from the prince, related to the needs of the construction of the Borisoglebskaya church. Ceramic tiles for the floor of the temple began to be baked in pottery kilns, some of them converted to a lime kiln, which was widely used for lining of its walls, as well as for the construction of mortars.