The annalistic city of Vyshhorod used to be a residence and the second to Kyiv capital of Rus-Ukraine’s rulers in the 9th through the 12th centuries.
The first attempt to create a historical and cultural reserve here was taken as early as in 1935, but it has been operating in its present only since 1994.
Its oldest structural unit, the Vyshhorod Historical Museum, was created in 1982 in Kliukva House, the oldest stone structure of Vyshhorod. Its exposition is dedicated to Vyshhorod district’s archaeological heritage, starting from the Paleolithic. Here you can see a unique model of Olha’s Castle and the Prince’s Seal of Iziaslav Yaroslavovych from the 11th–12th centuries, hear the history of the famous Mezhyhiria Cossack Monastery, admire a copy of Vyshhorod Madonna icon.
In addition to the Historical Museum, the reserve also contains the Rus-Ukraine Ceramics Museum that introduces pottery traditions in Vyshhorod, starting from the Neolithic era, Trypillian Culture and Kyiv Rus periods and ending with present days. Visitors are offered a unique opportunity to see a collection of products from the Mezhyhiria Porcelain and Faience Factory, where printing on ware was first used, as well as to create their own product during a pottery workshop.
Another interesting component of the Vyshhorod State Historical and Cultural Reserve is the ancient hillfort area. There is a preserved dytynets, surrounded by ramparts, with remains of an ancient Rus temple, and the inner wall and castle town area hosts an archaeological cultural layer containing remnants of potter's furnaces, steelmaking shops, residential and utility premises, and other archaeological sites. The hillfort area reveals remains of the 9th–13th century fortifications, foundations and fragments of walls of the stone Borys and Glib Temple, erected in 1074–1112.
The reserve also offers regular tours and research sites, as well as a constantly functioning Archaeologist’s School.
Next to Vyshhorod State Historical and Cultural Reserve